Floyd Medical Center Straightforward

2015 Floyd Awards and Honors

Healthgrades Patient Safety Award
Healthgrades, a company that provides online information about health care providers to consumers, recognized Floyd Medical Center with its 2015 Patient Safety Excellence Award,  ranking in the top 5 percent nationally. Floyd also received the award in 2014.

The award is based on patient claims data from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. The hospitals whose scores were in the top 10 percent were recognized for Patient Safety Excellence.

Leapfrog Group Recognizes Floyd for Safety Excellence
Leapfrog Group, a company that measures the quality of care in hospitals with the aim of improving patient safety and outcomes, awarded Floyd Medical Center a grade of “A” on its Hospital Safety Score Card in 2015.

The score is based on hospital safety metrics:

  • Safety problems with surgery
  • Staff follows steps to make surgery safer
  • Infections and safety problems
  • Right staffing to prevent safety problems
  • Hospital uses Standard Safety Procedures

The grade is based on the hospital’s ability to prevent errors, accidents, injuries and infections. The peer-reviewed score is calculated by patient safety experts. 

Verras Recognizes Floyd as a Georgia 10 Best Value Hospital
Verras Healthcare International, a company that provides continuous quality improvement techniques for hospitals and medical staffs, recognized Floyd Medical Center as one of Georgia’s 10 Best Value Hospitals.

The award is based on Verras’ Medical Value Index, which takes into account service, quality and price in ranking hospitals.

Center for Bariatric Services Earns CertificationMBSAQIP---Seal
Floyd’s Center for Bariatric Services was re-certified in June as a Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery Accreditation and Quality Improvement Program (MBSQIP). The certification is through the American College of Surgeons and the American Society for Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery (ASMBS).

The program seeks to advance safe, high-quality care for bariatric surgical patients. A bariatric surgical center achieves accreditation following a rigorous review of physical resources, human resources and standards of practice. All accredited centers report their outcomes to the MBSAQIP database.

gold standardWound Care Board Honors Floyd for Employer Recognition
Floyd Medical Center was honored in June with the 2015 WOCNCB® Employer Recognition Award from the Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nursing Certification Board. The award is given annually to an organization that has demonstrated exemplary support of the certification process in WOC nursing.

The award demonstrates Floyd’s support of professional excellence and focus on expert care.

The Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nursing Society is a professional, international nursing society of health care professionals who are specialists in the care of patients with wound, ostomy and continence needs.

Heyman HospiceCare named Hospice Honors™ Elite Recipient
Heyman HospiceCare was named a 2015 Hospice HonorsTM Elite recipient in May. The award honors hospice organizations that continuously provide the highest level of satisfaction through their care, as measured from the caregiver’s point of view.

Deyta, a survey and data company focusing on hospice and home health care, identified award recipients by evaluating hospices’ performance on 18 satisfaction indicator measures.  Elite recipients are those hospices scoring above the Deyta National Average on all evaluation questions. Deyta collects information from approximately 1,700 partnering hospices.

Stroke Program Receives Get with the Guidelines Gold Plus Award
Floyd Medical Center’s stroke program received the Get With The Guidelines®-Stroke Gold Plus Quality Achievement Award with Target: StrokeSM Honor Roll in May 2015.

To receive the Gold Plus Quality Achievement Award, hospitals must adhere to Get With The Guidelines-Stroke achievement indicators for two or more consecutive 12-month periods and comply with Get With The Guidelines-Stroke Quality measures.

Get With The Guidelines® establishes quality measures that are designed to help hospital teams provide the most up-to-date, evidence-based guidelines with the goal of speeding recovery and reducing death and disability for stroke patients.

Joint-Commission-iconThe Joint Commission Re-certifies Disease-Specific Programs
Floyd has four programs that hold disease-specific certification by The Joint Commission. In fiscal year 2015, each of those programs was re-certified: Advanced Inpatient Diabetes, Advanced Primary Stroke, Hip and Knee Joint Replacement and Spinal Surgery.

Certification means these programs have met The Joint Commission’s stringent quality-based guidelines. Programs are reviewed every two years by The Joint Commission.